Courtesy: Nelson Chenault
Edina Begic
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Edina Begic Earns Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Freshman of the Year and Second Team All-Sun Belt Honors
UALR Sports Information
Release: 11/16/2011


MIAMI, Fla.—Edina Begic earned Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year and second team All-Sun Belt Conference honors announced today at the 2011 Sun Belt Volleyball Championships Banquet. Begic led the team in kills and was second in digs during her first season as a Trojan.

The Sarajevo, Bosnia-native becomes the fourth UALR volleyball player to earn Freshman of the Year honors along with Tanja Radovic in 1997, Ivana Kuzmic in 2002, and Lenka Melicharkova in 2007.

UALR becomes just one of two Sun Belt institutions to have four Freshman of the Year honors.

Begic, a 6-2 outside hitter, averaged 3.88 kills and 2.64 digs per set. She has recorded 22 double-digit kill matches, 11 double-digit dig matches, and a team-high 11 double-doubles for the season. Her 415 total kills ranks her tied for tenth in UALR single-season records.

Begic recorded career-high of 32 kills against Arkansas State, 22 digs twice, with the last against Louisiana-Lafayette, and six total blocks at WKU. Her 32 kills ranks her fifth in individual match records.

The UALR volleyball team opens the 2011 Sun Belt Conference Tournament Thursday as they face No. 2 Middle Tennessee. Match is set for 11 a.m. in Miami, Fla.

2011 All-Sun Belt Conference Team

First Team

Cayla Fielder, Arkansas State

Faimie Kingsley, Denver

Jovana Bjelica, FIU

Ashley Adams, Middle Tennessee

Maria Szivos, Middle Tennessee

Tiffany Elmore, WKU

Jordyn Skinner, WKU

Melanie Stutsman, WKU


Second Team

Edina Begic, UALR

Ashley Tipps, Arkansas State

Allison Kearney, Arkansas State

Oyinlola Oladinni, Middle Tennessee

Eboni Godfrey, North Texas

Courtney Cohen, Troy

Ashley Potts, WKU

Lindsay Williams, WKU


Freshman of the Year: Edina Begic, UALR

Defensive Player of the Year: Ashley Potts, WKU

Player of the Year: Jordyn Skinner, WKU

Coach of the Year: Justin Ingram, Arkansas State

Donate Now
Photo Store
360 Tour
Lettermen's Association